He was the first to declare his candidacy, and it looks like being first out of the gate has paid off for mayor-elect Matt Brown.

Brown had about 57 per cent of the vote with over 93 per cent of the poll results in. Paul Cheng was sitting at 34.5 per cent with Joe Swan a distant third as of midnight.

There will be a rash of new faces at London city hall with many ward seats going to newcomers.

Among the newly elected councillors are:

  • Ward 1- Michael van Holst
  • Ward 3- Mo Salih
  • Ward 4- Jesse Helmer
  • Ward 5- Maureen Cassidy
  • Ward 6- Phil Squire
  • Ward 7- Josh Morgan
  • Ward 9- Anna Hopkins
  • Ward 10- Virginia Ridley
  • Ward 11- Stephen Turner
  • Ward 13- Tanya Park
  • Ward 14- Jared Zaifman

The only incumbent councillors returning are Bill Armstrong in Ward 2, Paul Hubert in Ward 8 and Harold Usher in Ward 12.

In other local races, Heather Jackson is returning as mayor of St. Thomas, while in Goderich long-time mayor Deb Shewfelt lost to Kevin Morrison.

There was also an upset in Woodstock, where Pat Sobeski lost to Trevor Birtch.

Randy Hope was re-elected in Chatham-Kent and Mike Bradley returns as mayor in Sarnia.

For all the results in London and surrounding communities visit: london.ctvnews.ca/election/results